Visiting Portugal

This information is intended to help coeliacs visiting Portugal and is based on our experience in responding to inquiries.

We hope it will prove helpful for you and, if you think of other useful information to include, please let us know. Thank you all!

We have a nationwide network of health shops (Ervanárias\Dietéticas) and pharmacies (Farmácias) that sell GF products. You can also buy products in several supermarkets and through some online stores, see it here the points of sale in Portugal where you can get gluten free products.

Specific gluten free products are universally identified with the symbol of the cut stem.

Likewise, if a product has gluten in their composition, it is mandatory that the allergen wheat, rye, barley or oats, is identified in bold in ingredient list of the product. Some products also have the warning "May contain traces of gluten".

There are some products that already indicate "gluten free" (in Portuguese is: isento de glúten) like yogurt flavours, ham, cheese, others. You can also find the APC logo on supermarket products as a way to identify what is gluten free. Continente, Pingo Doce and Jumbo are supermarkets with a lot of naturally gluten free products of their brands.

All 4 or 5 stars hotels serve gluten free breakfast since contacted in advance to request the menu.

In Portugal we have some bakeries and restaurants offering gluten free menus. See it here the places that are certified by APC/Biotrab and the others we recommend.

You can also have two gluten free pizzas in Telepizza but is necessary to do your request 2h earlier. The hamburger chain H3 also serves grilled burger, with no sauce, which is gluten free. McDonald's Portugal already have gluten-free menus available in every stores.

Also, the usual GF dining rules should apply when eating out in Portugal. Be careful with fried food (the oil may be contaminated by other food). Of course, you may eat rice, potatoes (be careful with some commercial ones), vegetables, and fruits. Portuguese restaurants serve several grilled dishes along with boiled potatoes, vegetables, and rice, so it should not be difficult to find suitable food. To be sure of what you are eating, inform the waiter that you cannot eat certain grains. State that you have celiac disease and for health reasons (and not because of a fitness diet), you cannot eat “trigo, cevada, aveia e centeio”. State that you can eat "farinha de arroz, milho, batata ou fécula de batata e arroz."

At the bottom of this page is an explanation of acceptable and unacceptable grains and their derivatives that you can print out and show in the hotels, waiters, chefs and anyone else who may be involved in preparing your foods. In restaurants, insist that the waiter ask in the kitchen how the foods are prepared. Do not accept the waiter’s immediate answer that the foods are OK. The statement below should be useful in communicating your needs.

If you would feel more comfortable bringing your own GF foods to Portugal, you may do so. We have no information to indicate that this would be a problem as you enter the country. If you experience a problem bringing food into Portugal, please let us know. If you need assistance regarding gluten free products, you may call our mobile number on +351 91 921 34 96, or our office number +351 21 753 01 93, during office hours.

Please feel free to use this statement to explain what you can and cannot eat:

"Por questões de saúde eu não posso comer nada que contenha glúten na sua composição, nomeadamente farinha e derivados de trigo, centeio, cevada e aveia.

O meu corpo não tolera este tipo de farináceos (MESMO EM QUANTIDADES MÍNIMAS TAIS COMO MIGALHAS), como tal, não me sirva refeições que contenham estas farinhas ou seus derivados.

Na prática, NÃO POSSO COMER NADA frito em óleos que estejam contaminados com outras comidas que levem estas farinhas, como salgados, panados e pataniscas, que contenha pão (incluindo broa de milho), pão ralado, bolacha, batatas fritas congeladas, massas, farinheira e alheira. Não posso também comer molhos que sejam confeccionados com farinha de trigo, cerveja e\ou mostarda.

POSSO COMER milho e farinha de milho (Maizena ou marca Ceifeira), arroz e a sua farinha, tapioca e mandioca, batata, soja, feijão, grão, ervilhas, lentilhas, fruta fresca, legumes e vegetais, leite, manteiga, grelhados e confeções simples de: carne, peixe, ovos, marisco.

Obrigado por ter em atenção às minhas necessidades de saúde e por me informar e preparar comida que eu posso tolerar. Em caso de dúvida não me sirva a refeição ou contacte a Nutricionista da Associação Portuguesa de Celíacos (+351 91 813 95 11)".

For more information please contact.

See below general information about tourism in Portugal.

We hope you enjoy your stay in Portugal.

Hotels & Transport

Transport Network
Airports
Hotels

  • Glutamine
  • Sovex
  • Soria Natural
  • Mar Ibérica
  • Celeiro
  • Schar
  • Pescanova
  • Gullón
  • Apolónia
  • Alpro
  • Dr. Oetker